You are here

Fosse: Plays Three: Mother and Child; Sleep My Baby Sleep; Afternoon; Beautiful; Death Variations (Oberon Modern Playwrights) (Paperback)

Fosse: Plays Three: Mother and Child; Sleep My Baby Sleep; Afternoon; Beautiful; Death Variations (Oberon Modern Playwrights) By Jon Fosse, May-Brit Akerholt (Translator) Cover Image
By Jon Fosse, May-Brit Akerholt (Translator)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Includes Mother and Child, Sleep My Baby Sleep, Afternoon, Beautiful and Death Variations

Mother and Child is the intense journey of two individuals trying to connect. Like strangers on a first date, mother and son stalk each other, confronted with a shared history they cannot ignore. In Sleep My Baby Sleep, three people are in a strange unnamed place; through visual and linguistic association they try to decipher their predicament. In Afternoon, characters come and go in a flat that is for sale; they will never understand each other; someone will always insist on one thing, while others will insist on something else. In Beautiful, the past disrupts the present when a man and his family go back to his childhood valley. Conflicts simmer when husband and wife punish each other by courting his best friend, while his daughter meets a local boy. Death Variations explores different aspects of the theme of death; death of love, death of relationship, death of happiness, and finally the death of a young person. As the characters in Fosse's plays search for meaning or even just familiarity in their ruptured lives, their struggles find an echo in the rhythms and repetitions of their speech.

About the Author

Jon Fosse's work includes novels, poetry, essays and books for children. He is one of the most produced playwrights in Europe and his plays have been translated into more than forty languages. Oberon Books publishes Plays One (Someone Is Going to Come, The Name, The Guitar Man, The Child), Plays Three (Mother and Child, Sleep my Baby Sleep, Afternoon, Beautiful, Death Variations), Plays Four (And We'll Never Be Parted, The Son, Visits, Meanwhile the Lights Go Down and Everything Becomes Black), Plays Five (Suzannah, Living Secretly, The Dead Dogs, A Red Butterfly's Wing, Warm, Telemakos, Sleep), Nightsongs, The Girl on the Sofa and I Am The Wind. Fosse was made a Chevalier of the Ordre national du Merite of France in 2007 and received The International Ibsen Award in 2010.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781840024784
ISBN-10: 184002478X
Publisher: Oberon Books
Publication Date: September 1st, 2005
Pages: 402
Language: English
Series: Oberon Modern Playwrights