You are here

It Could Never Happen Here (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
It Could Never Happen Here  By Eithne Shortall Cover Image
$15.95
Unavailable
Not Yet Published

Description


A relatable story of life on the front line of parenting with a slow burn Irish mystery at its center, from the author of Three Little Truths and Grace after Henry

Their school is about to be taught a lesson...

Beverley Franklin will do whatever it takes to protect her local school's reputation. So when a scandal involving her own daughter threatens to derail the annual school musical's appearance on national television, Beverley goes into overdrive. But in her efforts to protect her daughter and keep the musical on track, she misses what's really going, both in her own house and in the insular Glass Lake community - with dramatic consequences. Glass Lake primary school's reputation is about to be shattered...

"Eithne Shortall mixes humour and tragedy with a deftness reminiscent of Marian Keyes." —Irish Times

About the Author


Eithne Shortall studied journalism at Dublin City University and has lived in London, France and America. Now based in Dublin, she is editor of the Home magazine at the Sunday Times Ireland. Her debut novel, Love in Row 27, was a major Irish bestseller, and the follow-up, Grace After Henry, was shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards and won Best Page Turner at the UK's Big Book Awards. Her third novel, Three Little Truths, was a BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick.

Praise For…


"A wonderfully gossipy read, layered with dark moments, dry humour and a mystery at its heart to keep you guessing right to the end." —Carmel Harrington, author, A Thousand Roads Home

"As cleverly plotted as an Agatha Christie whodunnit ... thought-provoking, with well-drawn characters ... tempered by empathy and witty humour." —Irish Independent

"Insightful ... an engrossing page turner that'll leave you shocked and amused in equal measure." —Belfast Telegraph

Praise for Eithne Shortall's previous titles:


"Fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies will fall head over heels for Eithne Shortall’s Three Little Truths....[A] riveting and dramatic story." —CNN
  “An engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I'd known them forever.”—Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

"This is the best kind of book, with a blend of sharp humor and dark grief that strikes a pitch-perfect note of poignancy. . . . An absolute treat of a novel." —Lolly Winston, author of Good Grief

“A poignant love story . . . Bittersweet and charming, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.  “ —Shelf Awareness

“A huge hit in the U.K., Irish author Eithne Shortall’s Dublin-set romance novel allows its characters to experience grief with a mix of lightheartedness and gravity.”—Marie Claire

“Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? Shortall’s extraordinary debut is about the kind of shocking tragedy that shatters your life, about the ghosts  and people we cling to for solace, and about how, when we truly open our lives to loss, life actually becomes deeper, richer, and all the more precious. A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost.” —Caroline Leavitt,New York Timesbestselling author of Pictures of Youand Cruel Beautiful World

“Poignant and touching. . . . Shortall’s American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Insightful...Shortall’s thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader’s mind for a long time.”—Publishers Weekly

“A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go. I couldn’t put it down, and I can’t stop thinking about the characters, and I can’t wait to give copies to all the people I love.”—Nancy Thayer, bestselling author ofA Nantucket Wedding

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry.”—Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Husband Hour

“Readers who lovedSense & Sensibility’s inquiries into the possibility of loving twice will fall head over heels for this book.”—Bustle

“Charming and heartfelt. . . . A lovely, moving read.”—Karma Brown, bestselling author ofThe Life Lucy Knew

“A touching, beautifully written story. . . . I couldn’t put it down—I was reading the book at two in the morning with a little flashlight, so I wouldn’t wake up my husband.”—Mary Simses, author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café

"A combination of Sally Hepworth's The Family Next Door and Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies, this work is an excellent exploration of the inner workings of one Dublin neighborhood. A top-notch read for those looking for depth and a little humor." —Booklist 
"Within a few pages I felt like the newest neighbor on Pine Road, where the women are unique, interesting...and have a lot of secrets. I didn't want to put it down until I knew all of them! By the end, these women felt like friends...or frenemies." —Samantha Downing,USA Todaybestselling author ofMy Lovely Wife

"Shortall explores the fine line between friendship and enmity in this thoroughly enjoyable novel centered on a group of women neighbors...Readers will soak up this smart, entertaining plunge into a community’s dysfunctional culture... Secrets and subplots abound." —Publishers Weekly

"Tackles many complicated issues relating to self-esteem, parenting, and interpersonal connections...A lighthearted romp through an Irish community filled with characters that are as dysfunctional as they are delightful." —Kirkus Reviews

“This book is beautifully written with warm, complex characters. A skillfully woven and unpredictable story - it drew me in effortlessly, and by the end I felt as though I lived on Pine Road myself. A wonderfully satisfying read.”
—Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

“Smart and fun, Three Little Truths is the perfect next book for fans of Liane Moriarty. I was torn between never wanting the story to end and dying to know what would happen. With its big heart, biting humor, and unforgettable women, this is a summer must-read.”
—Bunmi Laditan, author of Confessions of a Domestic Failure and Dear Mother

“Eithne Shortall writes a community of neighbours so vividly that I feel like I'm one of them, adjusting my telescope and keeping a glass to the wall for fear that I'd miss anything. Funny, endearing, mysterious and outrageous, this book is wildly entertaining and hugely enjoyable.”
—Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait

“Heart-warming with a voice of its own. Now this is women power!”
—Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife
Product Details
ISBN: 9781838951870
ISBN-10: 1838951873
Publisher: Corvus
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English