You are here

The Poet X (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Compelling story told in verse—a perfect vehicle for the raw, intense emotions you will feel as Xiomara navigates religion, being Afro-Latinx (specifically the daughter of Dominican immigrants), sexuality, body acceptance… A must-have for every high school library. It's the kind of book teens will cite as the book that showed them they weren't alone—or that they wish they had known about when they were growing up. Slam poetry is a theme, so this book is *especially perfect* for the ones who think they "aren't smart enough" for poetry. Bonus: the author (a slam poet herself) narrates the audiobook! [Tanya]

— From The Poet X

Description


Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062662804
ISBN-10: 0062662805
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: March 6th, 2018
Pages: 368
Language: English